Harvard University - Cambridge, MA



The Rockefeller University - New York, NY



Brandeis University - Waltham, MA

Postdoctoral Fellow


Professional Experience

1970-1972          Helen Hay Whitney Foundation Fellow, Graduate Department of Biochemistry,
                         Brandeis University
1972-1987          Assistant, Associate and Full Professor of Chemistry and Biology, MIT
1980-1985          Uncas and Helen Whitaker Professor, MIT
1982-1987          Chairman, MIT Chemistry Department
1985-1987          Karl Taylor Compton Professor, MIT
1987-1995          Chairman, Department of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology,
                         Harvard Medical School
1992-1995          President, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
1991- present     Hamilton Kuhn Professor of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology,
                         Harvard Medical School

Professional Activity

1977-1979          Panel Member:  NSF Research Grants Study
1978-1980          Editorial Board:  Journal of Biological Chemistry
1978-1980          Biology Section Editor:  Annual Reports in Medicinal Chemistry
1978-1982          Panel Member:  NIH Study Section in Biochemistry; Chair in 1982
1978, 1984         Co-chairman:  1978 Gordon Research Conference on Enzymes, Coenzymes, and
                         Molecular Biology; 1984 Conference on Methanogenesis
1991-1992          Associate Editor:  Protein Science
1990-1995          Associate Editor:  Annual Review of Biochemistry
1991-1994          Editorial Board:  Journal of the American Chemical Society
1993- present     Editorial Board:  Chemistry and Biology
1996- 1999         Member, NIH General Medical Sciences Advisory Council

Society Memberships and Awards

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellow, 1975-1977
Camille & Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Grant Recipient, 1976-1980
Eli Lilly Award in Biochemistry, 1979
American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1988
Institute of Medicine (elected 1989)
National Academy of Sciences (elected 1989)
Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, Am. Chem. Soc., 1998
Repligen Award, Am. Chem. Soc, 1999


Board of Directors, Whitehead Institute,
Structural Biology Review Group, HHMI
Scientific Advisory Board: Epix Medical, KOSAN Biosciences, Caliper Technologies,
    Dyax, Millenium Pharmaceuticals, MPM Asset Management
Board of Directors: Versicor, Kosan Biosciences, Transform Pharmaceuticals